Tags

, , , ,

I guess I was trundling along pretty much OK on the steroids, until I went down from 20mg/day to 15mg/day.  Within a couple of days I started to feel worse again – less energy, slightly breathless.  Then a few days after that I really started to go downhill and ended up with a stinking cold. First full-blown cold in living memory almost, decades certainly. Oh goodee, thanks steroids.

So then I worried that being immunosuppressed I might go on to develop something worse, like ‘regular’ pneumonia, and consultant said I should have 10 days of amoxicillin 500mg 3/day.  Wow, that’s a lot.

Worryingly, GP, for the second time recently got the dosage wrong and prescribed 2x500mg 3/day. OMG.  That’s 3000mg/day instead of 1500mg/day.  I think he’s losing the plot.  Probably happened cos they more often prescribe 240mg tabs I think.  Jeez, you’ve got to be on the ball haven’t you?

Anyhow, started antibiotics, though only 2 a day.  Amoxicillin has been one of the very few antibiotics I can tolerate – they all seem to give me migraines.  But it would seem that, perhaps in addition to the steroids – which can also give me headaches – they’re now doing that too.  So, no more antibiotics!  I’ll just have to take my chances.  Frankly, I think I’d rather be knackered and breathless, even with a cold, than have constant nauseous migraines.

Oh, and I’ve also got the runs too. So dehydration may well be playing a part as well.

Is there no respite?

