Tags

, , ,

So I was pootling along, doing reasonably OK, reducing steroids gradually.  Very gradually!  I was down to 3mg/day.  Then alternating with 2.5mg/day.

Then I had my dental implant.  And bam!  Down I went for the next couple of weeks.  All the usual suspects – terrible fatigue, loose bowels, muscles – well, what muscles?!  Was struggling to get up the stairs, certainly in one go, would have to stop a couple of times on the way up.  No brain, breathless.  Hadn’t felt so knackered or feeble for about 10 years.

This was happening a couple of weeks before a date to perform at the O2 with all my lovely Rock Choir mates.  But I turned up to rehearsal two days beforehand and felt so wretched I thought I was going to pass out and left early. Everyone was saying how pale I looked.

So I thought, dammit, I’m not going to let these little buggers (steroids, that is) stop me from enjoying the O2.  How often does a girl get to play the O2 for gawd’s sake?  So I trebled my steroids – from 3mg to 10mg for the day before, then 8.5 ton the day itself, 7mg last Sunday, 5mg on Monday, 4mg yesterday and 3mg today.  And of course I now feel absolutely shit.

Not helped by going out all day yesterday to the Cutty Sark and a riverside lunch with partner.  So I used up a lot of (non-existent!) energy and didn’t get my regulation afternoon zzzzz.  But hey, again, it was great and Life has to go on!

It’s only going to get worse over the next couple of weeks too.  I have to be completely off the steroids next Monday in readiness for an adrenal function test on Thursday.  hat’s going to be a stretch and I know I’m going too fast for comfort.  But it has to be done.  Any level of steroids in the system will invalidate the results.  And I don’t want to delay the test because I want to get to the bottom of what’s going on, including why I’m having so much trouble getting off steroids (when taken at the advisory pace).  Also, I have pretty much back-to-back investigations, interventions, procedures, etc. of various types booked over the next couple of months, so if I postpone the synacthen test now, gawd knows when the next chance to do it will be.  By all accounts, the endocrinologist, is a good one, high up in her field, so I’m looking forward to the appointment – as you do!

But at least I made it to the O2 and had a fabbo time!  If anyone’s interested in getting a feel for what we were all up to, try http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jn1FU5529Ss&feature=share&list=PLNqtvGYxBMPyiBVtJ7ci1hXKKwX10z8GV.

I shall return.

 

 

